Jul 21, 2008

Patagonia, a magical place

Patagonia may be summarized as follows: Mountain, Lakes and Forests. Geographically, the region lyes on the chaining of the Patagonian Andes Fueguinos and develops on a narrow strip that stretches for about 2000km.
In these latitudes The Andes lost altitude and aridity, but wins in shapes and colors. The continuous line is lost and formed extensive and deep valleys that in many cases are opcupied by imposing glacial lakes of origin. These lakes are among the largest in South America, including the Buenos Aires (Shared with Chile) 2440km2, also the Argentina (1415km2), Viedma and San Martin, but also the Nahuel Huapi of 550km2. The higher elevations of the mountains are at their North tranches (Lanin Volcano with 3776mts and Mount Tronador 3478mt) and South (San Lorenzo Mount Fitz Roy 3706m and 3405m), already on the island of Tierra del Fuego Grande, lock changes its course by another north-south east-west, where he presents saws that not exceed 1500mts.

The Andean Patagonian forest that is deployed in the region presents certain nuances depending on the topographical location in which it finds itself. There are 4 districts: the Pehuen, with almost pure formations of Araucaria Araucana, which in some places are intermingled with Lengas and undergrowth closed Coligüe canes. Another district is known as deciduous forest, with the presence of Lengas and Ñires. In more humid areas, Valdivian forest, is an important currency undergrowth with epiphytes, vines, ferns, fungi and babbling. In these places grow giant trees that may exceed 50mt high and are 3000 years old. For last few, the district forest Magallanes which occupies a very restricted area south of the country, but by the low temperatures and less rainfall, resulting in a lower species diversity, such as sour cherry, and the Lenga Ñire .
In Patagonia are as many national parks, including the Lanin, the Nahuel Huapi (Neuquen and Rio Negro) who is the most extensive, Lago Puelo (Chubut), the Arrayanes National Park, Los Alerces (Chubut) , Perito Moreno (Santa Cruz), the Glaciers (Declared natural heritage of mankind in the year 1981) and where are developed the ice fields known as continental ice. (These occupy much of the surface of the park and are the third type of continental glacial mass of the world, only less than Antarctica and Greenland). In this park is the Perito Moreno. They are also the Tierra del Fuego National Park (the most southern of the country).
The Patagonia is ideal for those who love winter sports, finding a large quantity of Ski centers, including mention Cavihaue, Chapelco, Cerro Bayo (all in Neuquen), Cerro Catedral, Cerro Perito Moreno (Rio Negro), Hoya ( Chubut), and several in the vicinity of Ushuaia in Tierra del Fuego.
On the coast can be seen very particular characteristics to the area, such as cliffs that can reach the height of 30mts. All seafront Patagonian is a real sanctuary for marine life. The Valdez peninsula, where between their gulfs, tips and inlets congregate a world populated by elephant seals, sea lions, whales, dolphins and killer whales penguins. In this place once a year reach the whales, a natural spectacle worthy of being seen, starting his arrival in May and ending in December when the whales are.
The provinces making up the Patagonia are: Rio Negro, Neuquen, Chubut, Santa Cruz and Tierra del Fuego.

No comments :

Post a Comment

I love comments but delete spam.

HINT: use the "Name/URL" function to get a free backlink straight to your blog!